5 Comments

  1. Mark said:

    Found this from doing a Google search for “centralized my documents” and I see where you’re going with this. We have a Desktop & Laptop Option (DLO) with our current backup solution but come to find out that when I tried to move the backup solution to a different server along with the DLO option, it’s an annual subscription that’s long since lapsed. So now I’m wondering if I want to renew the DLO for a somewhat outdated version of the backup solution, upgrade everything along with the latest and greatest version of the DLO, or just home everyone’s personal files and settings somewhere on a server and move forward.

    When I look at things, the DLO option simply keeps a copy of everyone’s “My Documents” folder (along with their “Favorites”) on the server in an encrypted store and said store is backed up with all of our servers each night to media. The RESTORE process using this method has never been pretty and nine times out of ten I’ve been fortunate enough to have the hard drive not completely fried and was able to somehow recover their data and move it to their replacement machine. So the question still remains… is it really worth it?

    I think I’m going to try your method on my own machine with my own files and see if I can either get it working or break it. Did you ever post information on doing something like this with their “Desktop” and “Favorites” folder?

    Thank you for the contribution of knowledge…

    July 29, 2010
    Reply
    • said:

      Mark,

      I haven’t shared my experiences with the Desktop and Favorites script. Its a little rusty as we never implemented it at my current place of employment. Most of the migration happens by way of a VBScript, with the only issue being the authority to reboot the computer when the script is ran under User credentials. I’ll try to get it up this weekend.

      -Aaron

      July 30, 2010
      Reply
  2. Harold said:

    Aaron,
    I used the script but I am unable to remove the inherited permissions from the domain user group. All I changed was administrator group to domain users group. No matter what I try this group is not removed. Do you have any clue or idea why this is failing?

    August 4, 2010
    Reply
    • said:

      At the user share (not the individual user folder, but the base folder) remove the inherited permissions. Because the permission is inherited, I doubt this script would remove that permission. The local Administrators group was not inherited in my environment, it was just something that was automatically added by Microsoft.
      -Aaron

      August 6, 2010
      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *